top of page

KYLE BENNER'S

photojournalism blog

WRAPPING UP A GREAT SEMESTER AT BITTERSWEET FARMS

For our final visual storytelling class, we traveled to Bittersweet Farms to do a multimedia story. I was in charge of podcasting and writing the story.

Matt, resident of Bittersweet Farms

Right when we arrived, I met a man named Matt who lives and works there. He was a very friendly guy, and he basically took me to everyone he thought would do good on the podcast. After I took a portrait of him, we traveled across the farm, going building to building to see who wanted to talk. Surprisingly enough for me, I found MORE than I needed. Many of the people were very willing to share their experiences about Bittersweet Farms with me.

Once I started editing, I realized I had my hands full. With at least 10 different interviews, I had to construct a script that flowed well enough so it wasn’t a jumbled podcast and still explained Bittersweet Farms. After finishing that, I recorded my intro, segways, and outro, which was the easiest part. Then after I combined it all, I had to find the music to lay beneath the story. This took more time than I expected, because I wanted a gritty, truthful feel, but also yearned for happiness and uplifting vibes, because that’s how I felt when I was at Bittersweet Farms. After finding the music, it all came together, and clocked in around 10 minutes.

Then I had to write the story. It wasn’t as difficult as I thought, mainly because I had the information about the farm fresh in my mind from the interviews. I was also helped by my classmate, who gathered quotes while I recorded interviews. All in all, I learned a lot in the short time we visited Bittersweet Farms, and I’m thankful to them for giving me the opportunity.

This being my last blog post as a student of the visual storytelling class is (no pun intended) bittersweet. My class has become a group of friends that I never thought I’d have, and I never thought I’d be a part of the Owens Outlook voluntarily, or that I’d be comfortable enough to talk to complete strangers to take pictures of them. I’ve learned a great deal of information and knowledge in this class, and I’m grateful for the friends and leaders that have helped me through it. I’ll definitely miss it! Thanks again for reading this post.

bottom of page