top of page

KYLE BENNER'S

photojournalism blog

FIGURING OUT MY FIRST PODCAST

This past week, I was introduced to Podcasting first-hand.

For the Owens Outlook online student newspaper, each student in my Visual Storytelling class had to find a subject to interview, and then ask them about a certain topic.

My subject was my girlfriend, Hannah Ball. Last semester, her class ran into a problem with a higher-up at Owens regarding their state board test. This test helps get them certified for their field, and ultimately, prepares them for hire. When I brought the topic up to the news staff, they said it was a great idea, because the nursing program lost its accreditation a few years back, and it shows that similar instances are still happening.

On August 1st, 2013, the Owens Community College Nursing Program regained it's accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing through Spring 2018. (https://www.owens.edu/rnfacts/index.html)

When I went to record, I had a very easy time (thankfully). Since I am in a band, I have all of the equipment to record, and the right environment to do so. In that aspect, it was easy. When it came to putting my words together, however, I struggled. I had a script, but found myself going off on tangents (as I do in regular conversation).

When I got everything I needed recorded, I started editing. It took me HOURS to cut things down. When I look at the native file, it looks like a bunch of tiny boxes shoved together, but listening through it, I'm pretty pleased with the end result.

This taught me a whole different way of storytelling as well as recording. When the real conversation is in the limelight, there are many inconsistencies that can be highlighted without your knowledge (like 'um' and 'like'), but I also found that there is a way to trim certain things the right way to make a cohesive conversation.

bottom of page